Boston Traffic Quilt

IMG_4138

This quilt is near and dear to my heart because it is the first one I’ve ever made for my young son, who loves all things that honk, beep, and rev. It’s also special to me because it’s my first attempt at free motion quilting on my home sewing machine.

I found the pattern online a while ago. It’s by Vanessa Goertzen of Lella Boutique. If you go here, you can see the lovely colors she chose for her version.

I entered this quilt in my local agricultural fair recently and it won an honorable mention. (Full disclosure: every quilt there seemed to win a ribbon.) The judges were kind in their critique, pointing out something I already knew: I need to work on keeping my stitch length even.

I used Kona solids for the fused vehicle shapes on the front. The back is a novelty print.

IMG_4140I had to add two rectangular panels to either side of the larger middle panel in order to have the back panel be the right width.

IMG_4136My favorite vehicle shape is the green bus. (You can see that I used the same shade of green for the binding.)

IMG_4135

All in all, I’m very pleased with how it came out. Making it was a lot more fun than raking!

5 thoughts on “Boston Traffic Quilt

  1. Beginning Crafter

    Great quilt! I love your eye for color. My son would love that too! How long did it take to make? Look forward to more blog entries!

  2. Vanessa G.

    So fun to stumble upon this and I love how it turned out. It really is such a labor of love to make quilts for those who are near and dear to your heart. I hope he loves it. What a sweet mama you are.

Leave a Reply

