A New Bag For a New Year

File_000

Today I’m sharing a large tote bag I recently finished. I’m calling it The Groovy Bag since the Jonathan Adler fabric reminds me of vinyl records. They, in turn, remind me of the ’60s and ’70s, hence the name.

I bought the fabric at Zimman’s in Lynn, which is a fantastic store for home dec fabrics. The interior is Kona cotton in cream, fusible fleece, and some heavy-duty Peltex, though I can’t remember its exact number. Despite all the linings, the bag doesn’t quite stand up on its own, although once you fill the bag, it does.

The leather straps are 3/4-inch wide and available from this Etsy shop. If I had to do it over again, I would buy 1-inch wide straps. The interior has a magnetic clasp.

File_000

I sewed everything on my home machine, a Viking Husqvarna Sweden Model 60 20, and had no problems. I did use a jeans needle to help sew through all the layers. My machine is heavy — all metal parts, I think — and quite the workhorse!

True confessions time: there is a wrinkle on the back side seam of the bag. I think it happened because the exterior fabric was a smidge wider than the lining fabrics. Try as I might, I could not get the exterior to lie flat when I sewed the interior and exterior together. It most likely happened because when doing the initial cutting out, I was so worried that the exterior fabric wouldn’t be wide enough that I overcompensated by making the lining not quite wide enough.

I adapted the bag from a free online pattern here by All People Quilt.

Happy New Year to all! I hope 2016 will be happy and healthy for all of us.

File_000

2 thoughts on “A New Bag For a New Year

Leave a Reply

