The Kindness of Strangers

color-wheel-quilt-front

I found the pattern for this Color Wheel Quilt in Last-Minute Patchwork and Quilted Gifts by Joelle Hoverson, owner of Purl Soho in New York City. It took me almost 18 months to make because piecing curves was a new skill for me, and also because I tried to quilt it on my home machine, but I couldn’t escape fabric puckers. After spending hours ripping out stitches, I took a one-day course on using a longarm machine at Laurena’s Longarm Quilting and then rented time on her computerized machine.

I used two patterns for the quilting — bubbles for the black sections and a swirl pattern for the colored panes.

bubbles

greens-color-wheel-quilt

I love the way the thread colors blend into the fabric. I really wanted the piecing to be the star of the show.

melons-color-wheel-quilt

When I was picking out the fabric for the quilt, I visited Purl Soho in New York City. While standing at the register to pay for my fabric I discovered that my purse was missing. Purl Soho staffers couldn’t have been nicer. They let me use their classroom space to empty out my backpack in search of my purse and even gave me a muslin “Purl Soho” bag when I left. Weeks later, after many anxious phone calls to Grand Central Station (where I had put my purse down while eating my lunch) I recovered my purse — with everything still in it!

book-cover-joelle

 

back-cover-joelle
I have no idea who turned in my purse at Grand Central Station, but as a way of paying it forward (and thanking Purl Soho), I’m giving away a copy of Joelle’s book. It has many fantastic projects as well as stunning photography. If you want to enter the drawing, just leave a comment here telling me the first name of someone for whom you want to do a good turn. Giveaway open until Tuesday, Nov. 15. I’ll post the name of the winner here.

blues-color-wheel-quilt

Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “The Kindness of Strangers

  1. Shirley Elliott

    I would like to do an act of kindness for Marie. Thanks for the opportunity to enter the giveaway. What an awesome (and inspiring) story about your lost purse.

  2. Sharon

    I need to do another good favor for Debbie who is always so good to me. You are so very lucky with someone finding and turning in your purse with everything in it to boot! What are the odds?

  3. Karen Rowland

    I would like to do something for Terri. You were very lucky to get your purse back. I thought I had lost my clutch at Sky Harbor airport last November. What a nightmare trying to cancel my credit and ATM card and trying to fly home without identification. My brother found my clutch 4 months later between his truck seats with everything in tact of course.

  4. The Joyful Quilter

    Pretty incredible that you got your purse back!! I want to do something nice for my friend, Hilary, who is always passing along her cool hand-knit items to me. Thanks for a chance to win that lovely book. Your Color Wheel quilt turned out beautifully!!

  5. Cheryl

    My neighbor Josie is due a random act of kindness. Thank God for an “unknown” friend for you! Your color wheel quilt turned out great. Thanks for your giveaway opportunity.

  6. Phil Lahrmer

    I really like the black background because it makes the colors just pop. Of course we have two blond dogs so it would never work for us. I would love to pay it forward to our dog groomer for all the loving care she gives our four-legged kids!

  7. Carol

    I would like to do a kind act for Eric. Thanks for your fun story. There are many good, honest people in the world. And nice job on your quilt! It is lovely.

Leave a Reply

